84.2 F
College Station
Thursday, September 23, 2021

College Station to Vote on ROO in Special Meeting Today

Local News

College Station Bans Traditional Pet Shops

At Thursday's meeting, the College Station city council passed an ordinance that prohibits the sale of non-rescue dogs and cats in pet...

College Station to Vote on ROO in Special Meeting Today

The College Station City Council meets Monday at 4 p.m. at city hall to consider a Restricted Occupancy Overlay (ROO). The ordinance would allow single-family...

College Station Plans on Borrowing Additional $62 Million Without Taxpayer Vote

The College Station City Council voted to begin the process of issuing $62 million in certificates of obligations for capital projects. The...

Brazos Valley Hospitalizations Continue to Decline After Mask Order Rescinded

Texas Governor Greg Abbott issued Executive Order GA-34 on March 2, 2021, and the order went into effect on March 10, 2021....

The College Station City Council meets Monday at 4 p.m. at city hall to consider a Restricted Occupancy Overlay (ROO). The ordinance would allow single-family neighborhoods to request a zoning overlay to restrict home occupancy to no more than two unrelated people.

In the 2021 online poll, 83.5% of the 3,013 responses were against the proposed ordinance. That rejection is greater than the 2020 poll, where 76.4% of respondents were against the proposed ordinance. Thirty-six respondents did not support or reject the idea.

The meeting will be streamed live from city hall on Suddenlink Channel 19 and at cstx.gov/cstv19.

VIEW ROO

Contact your representatives

To contact Mayor Karl Mooney, contact the city at 979.764.3500 or email kmooney@cstx.gov

Bob Brick rbrick@cstx.gov

John Crompton jcrompton@cstx.gov

Linda Harvell lharvell@cstx.gov

Elizabeth Cunha ecunha@cstx.gov

John Nichols jnichols@cstx.gov

Dennis Maloney dmaloney@cstx.gov

To make written comments for College Station City Council or to speak to the Council, fill out the comment form on the Council website. https://www.cstx.gov/departments___city_hall/council/comments

More articles

- Advertisement -

State News

Election Bill Bait-and-Switch: Texas Lawmakers Lower Penalties for Voter Fraud

As election integrity advocates celebrate the passage of major legislation to improve voting security in Texas, one conservative group took a closer look at...

Where Will Chris Paddie Go Next?

After State Rep. Chris Paddie (R–Marshall) announced this week that he would not be seeking re-election to the Texas House of Representatives, Capitol sources...

Republican Candidate for Vacant San Antonio House Seat Supports Medicaid Expansion

One of the Republican candidates vying for the special election in Texas House District 118 has indicated his support for the expansion of Medicaid....

House GOP Caucus Chairman Announces He Is Not Seeking Re-election

On Thursday, the Texas House Republican Caucus chairman, State Rep. Jim Murphy (Houston), announced that he will not be seeking re-election. Murphy was first...

GOP Lawmaker Wants to Weaken Texas Heartbeat Act

A Republican lawmaker in the Texas House wants to water down the life-saving Heartbeat Act passed by the state Legislature earlier this year. The...